My subscription addiction!

Lately, I have signed up to two different subscription services; Netflix and Spotify and haven’t looked back.

How great is it that you pay a certain amount every month and you get thousands of films at your fingertips? This is how the term “binge-watching” or “netflixing” comes from and I can definitely see why. I never tune into regular TV anymore and we pay for the cable kind too because who really watches what they put into the tele nowadays? Game of thrones doesn’t count because you can watch that on a pay as you go basis (NOW TV, subscription). I do however dislike the fact that there are discrepancies in the content in the different regions. USA and Europe for example. I understand that there are legal issues but seriously? Why doesn’t every party involved understand that the more current shows and movies on the service the more people pay? The meme “Shut up and take my money” comes into mind. I can only watch so many Nicholas Cage films before I get bored and cancel. Original content are great but slow in coming out. Early days.

Spotify is even better. I literally probably have about half of the modern day soundtracks in the world accessible through my cracked phone (smashed my screen *sadface) in seconds. Again only paying a certain amount every month grants me the use of this legendary service. Yes, there is the free version but the ads get you after using Spotify for about a month or two. I think they employed psychiatrists to figure out the average tolerance before you give in to paying the service! And it didn’t help that they had a promotion period too! I grew up listening to Filipino music too and I just love that it is also in Spotify! I can also indulge in my guilty pleasure of cheesy love songs and Filipino rap. Only thing missing now is a healthy selection of Kpop music! Come on KPOP!

I guess my point is I can live without cable subscription anymore and not buying tracks anymore. As things are going now, especially on Spotify, content are pushed onto the service at the same time of release or relatively soon after. The only hurdle now is the legalities of things, a kit that bundles all the streaming services together or even a service that has everything together! Entertainment in your pockets which you can continue onto the living room tele… SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!

Leave a Reply

